Songs and Yoga

I often like to move to the music, and advocate adding Music into any Yoga routine for children. I recently had the pleasure of working with a special needs group where the music was, for them, particularly engaging. I figured it would be a perfect time to share some of my known song and pose pairings.

ROW-ROW-ROW YOUR BOAT
This song is perfect for Boat Pose in yoga, particularly when you envision your hands holding a paddle. As you sing, use the paddle strokes to keep the beat. At the end of the song, students can release the pose and enter into Shavasana (Life is but a dream). You can repeat in a few breaths!

ONE ELEPHANT-TWO ELEPHANTS
This Classic Sharon, Lois and Bram song is perfect for forward fold. I have my students hang in FF, or in wide leg FF, then place the hands together in front to make the ‘Elephant’s Truck.’ As you sing, sway the trunk side to side, when you get to ENORMOUS FUN, come up in a reverse Swan Dive, and swing your arms over your head to call another elephant.

I’M A LITTLE TEAPOT
Surprisingly, some of my kids didn’t know this one. Follow the role of the song, placing your hand on your hips for  the handle and your ‘spout’ is the opposite arm, but when you TIP OVER, move into Triangle Pose. This is great to get stretching out!

YOGA POKEY!
How fun is this. For each verse, place yourself into a new yoga pose. You can do One Legged Pose, Dancer Pose, Forward Fold, Airplane, and a whole wack of other fun poses to get parts of the body in. For the refrain, just substitute YOGA POKEY.

WHEELS ON THE BUS
If you’ve not already seen it, I have a great Wheels on the Bus Yoga sequence from the book Pete the Cat; go check it out!

Leave a comment